The European Parliament

Rue Wiertz 60
B-1047 Brussels

The European Parliament elected by EU voters every 5 years, members of the European Parliament (MEPs) represent the people. Parliament is one of the EU’s main law-making institutions, along with the Council of the European Union (‘the Council’).
The European Parliament has three main roles:
• debating and passing European laws, with the Council
• scrutinising other EU institutions, particularly the Commission, to make sure they are working democratically
• debating and adopting the EU’s budget, with the Council.