EISRI III presents high-level speakers including former heads of state and key representatives of the European institutions and national governments as well as leaders from leading research institutions, businesses and media. The dedicated workshops are designed to reflect the key issues in this area and to promote “out of the box” thinking and participatory processes.

DAY 1 – Thursday 25 September 2014
European Parliament, Luxembourg entrance

14:30 – 16:30 Registration and Welcome

14:30 – 16:00 Working Session:
- Changing Paradigm: Developing Innovative and Sustainable Health Systems for the 21st Century

16:30 – 17:00 Welcome Address

17:00 – 17:30 Science, Media and Democracy – a Challenge for Europe

17:30 – 17:50 Coffee Break

17:50 – 19:00 Expert Panel Discussion

20:00 – 22:30 Gala Dinner
Stanhope Hotel (Handelsstraat 9, 1000 Brussel)

DAY 2 – Friday 26 September 2014
European Parliament, Luxembourg entrance

09:00 – 11:00 Parallel Breakout Sessions:
- Science, Decision Making, and the Future of European Policy Making
- Entrepreneurial Europe: Strengthening Innovation Systems for a more competitive European Research Area
- Digital Science: Transforming Science through ICT Tools, Networks and Media

11:00 – 11:30 Coffee Break

11:30 – 13:00 Working Session:
- What Should 21st Century Science Education Look Like?

13:00 – 14:00 Standing Lunch

14:00 – 15:30 Closing Session

Speakers include (in alphabetical order):

Mr. Esko Aho, Senior Fellow, Harvard University, Consultative Partner, Nokia Corp., Former Prime Minister of Finland

- Mr. Michelangelo Baracchi Bonvicini, President of Atomium Culture

Mr. Jerzy Buzek, Chair of the European Parliament Industry, Research and Energy Committee, former President of the European Parliament, former Prime Minister of Poland, Member of the Advisory Board of Atomium Culture

- Dr. Martin Curley, Vice-President Intel Labs and Director Intel Labs Europe

- Mr. Luca De Biase, Chief Science Editor of Il Sole 24Ore

- Prof. Soumitra Dutta, Dean of the Samuel Curtis Johnson Graduate School of Management at Cornell University

Mr. Valéry Giscard d’Estaing, Honorary President of Atomium Culture, former President of France

- Prof. Anne Glover, Chief Scientific Adviser to the President of the European Commission

- Mr. Felipe González, Chairman of the Board of Atomium Culture, Former Prime Minister of Spain

- Ms. Neelie Kroes, Vice President of the European Commission responsible for the Digital Agenda

Mr. Hossein Moiin, Chief Technology Officer (CTO) of Nokia Solutions and Networks

- Prof. Timothy O’Shea, Principal and Vice-Chancellor of the University of Edinburgh

- Mr. Xavier Prats Monné, Director-General for Education and Culture, European Commission

„- Prof. Carlo Rubbia, CERN, Nobel Laureate, Member of the Advisory Board of Atomium Culture

Mr. Vladimír Šucha, Director-General DG Joint Research Centre of the European Commission

Mr. Jeroen van der Veer, Chairman of Philips


Eisri Summit Programme 2014

EISRI Summit Programme







Open the complete EISRI Summit Programme 2014 in a new window (.pdf)








The opening and closing sessions of the Summit are dedicated to the development of the broader issues that need to be tackled and the development of a shared perspective on the direction to be taken in the coming years in order to achieve this (long-term actions).

The parallel and plenary sessions look more in detail at certain key areas that need to be addressed (short-term actions and concrete projects). The parallel working sessions include smaller discussion groups and workshops that are participative and very interactive, giving the possibility to citizens across Europe to testify and learn from the conference.

In order to make the sessions participatory and to engage a larger audience in the debates, new media tools and social media tools were developed and used during the conference for this purpose. Atomium Culture works together with the media engaged in its platform to develop these tools.